Persiflage Saxophone Quartet
From stately baroque to funky tango
   Home            CDs
Persiflage on CD

By Special Invitation

The latest CD from Persiflage incorporates a selection of original compositions and arrangements all commissioned by the quartet from some of the leading composers and arrangers of the genre.
This album really did all start with a bit of ‘persiflage’ – that is, some light banter over a slice of post-rehearsal cake. How would composers, arrangers and musical mentors respond if we sent them a special invitation to create something just for Persiflage? 
They responded very positively, as it turns out, and ‘By Special Invitation’ embraces a diversity which surprised even us. Some pieces are playful and witty, some plaintive and wistful. Some capture a centuries-old heritage, whilst others have a distinctly contemporary edge. Jazz inflections and swing-style nuances sit alongside punchy rhythmic messages, and there’s even room for jaunty country dances which sound like they’ve been picked straight from the fairground.
It’s an eccentric mix which captures the spirit of Persiflage to perfection. It celebrates where we’ve come from musically, marks where we are now, and demonstrates how we’ve grown and developed as both an ensemble and as individual performers over the last 12 years. 
Although most of the pieces will remain forever ‘just for us’, a number of the original compositions have been published, extending the canon of accessible saxophone quartet music available to other players and ensuring that Persiflage has, in some small way, established its own musical legacy. To say we’re proud of that would be an understatement. Not a bad outcome for a late-night natter over tea and cake.



Listen to tracks from 'By Special Invitation'

Track listing:
  1. Persiflage (Alistair Parnell)4:45
  2. Balulalow (Peter Warlock) 2:54
  3. Canzona per Sonare No. 4 (Giovanni Gabrieli) 2:05
  4. Quem Pastores (Anne Marshall) 3:01
  5. There is No Rose of Such Vertu (Traditional) 2:34
  6. All I See is You (Ben Weisman & Clive Westlake) 2:52
  7. Dancing Shadows (Alex Rickells) 4:05
  8. Days of Wine & Roses (Henry Mancini) 2:27
  9. Some Say So (Andy Hampton) 3:43
  10. Saxofrolic (Keri Degg) 3:40
  11. A Village Fair (Don Blakeson): Little March 1:59
  12. A Village Fair (Don Blakeson): Swingboats 1:17
  13. A Village Fair (Don Blakeson): Highland Dancing 1:48
  14. Morse (Chris Gumbley) 4:50
  15. Ev’ry Time We Say Goodbye (Cole Porter) Vocals: Heather Thomas 5:30

Order 'By Special Invitation' Online

To purchase a copy of the Persiflage CD 'By Special Invitation' for £10 each plus £2.50 postage, click on the Buy Now button on the left. You will be able to order more than one copy and you will be asked to enter your delivery address. Payment can be made by credit card, debit card or PayPal account.
Time Signature was the debut CD from saxophone quartet Persiflage and is a selection of the foursome’s particular favourites, presented loosely as a year-long passage through time and bound together under the distinctive Persiflage signature.


The year opens with the folk anthem Londonderry Air, given a novel twist in this arrangement by Karen Street. The mood then drifts into one of springtime romance, reflected by two sentimental ballads and the Love Song from Whitlock’s Celtic Suite. From here, the selection moves through a suite of ancient madrigals to the heat of a Latin summer, and thence to balmy moonlit evenings captured in Moondance and the dreamy Moon River. Blues for an Autumn Night breaks the reverie and the year turns into winter with an Advent hymn arranged especially for Persiflage by Alistair Parnell. Finally, Time Signature draws to a close with two familiar carols evoking first the peace and then the joy of the festive season.


Track Listing

1.    Londonderry Air (Traditional. Arr. Street)

2.    Love is Here to Stay (Gershwin)

3.    Groovy Kind of Love (Wine/Sager. Arr. Street)

4.    Celtic Love Song (Whitlock)

5.    Now is the Month of Maying (Morley. Arr. Hicks/Goddard)

6.    Gentle Zephyr (Horsley. Arr. Hicks/Goddard)

7.    Bright Cloris (Wilbye. Arr. Hicks/Goddard)

8.    Habanera (Lopez)

9.    Tango (Street)

10.  Milonga (Di Marino)

11.  Moondance (Morrison. Arr. Halton)

12.  Moon River (Mancini. Arr. Di Marino)

13.  Blues for an Autumn Night (Lewin)

14.  O Come, O Come, Emmanuel (Traditional. Arr. Parnell)

15.  Silent Night (Gruber)

16.  Hark How the Bells (Traditional. Arr. Di Marino/Coombes)

See us on Facebook
See our forthcoming concerts
Listen to samples of our music
Get regular updates